Sign In
Contact Information
​​Biology, Chemistry & Physics, and Mathematics
Department Chair: Dr. Jodie Ramsay
Mewaldt-Jensen 224
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2456
Fax: 605-626-3364
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
The 2012 Women in Science Conference was held Tuesday, March 6, at the Northern State University Johnson Fine Arts Center. 
This was the 11th annual conference, which encourages girls and young women to consider science, technology, engineering and mathematics careers through personal interaction with professional women in those fields.

The day's schedule:
                • 8:30-9:15 a.m.: Registration
                • 9:15-9:30 a.m.: Welcome and introduction
                • 9:30-9:40 a.m.: Report to first session
                • 9:40-11:30 a.m.: Small group sessions (Four 20-minute sessions with 10-                   minute breaks between sessions.)
                • 11:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m.: Lunch
                • 1-2:15 p.m.: Keynote presentation
                • 2:15-2:30 p.m.: Post survey/awards
Keynote speaker was Jill Gilardi, storm chaser/meteorologist from Omaha, Neb. Other guest presenters included Terry Piatz, hematology/medical lab science, NSU; Dana Althoff, horticulturist, Park View Nursery, Aberdeen; Dr. Adela Casas-Melley, chief pediatric surgeon, Sanford Children's Specialty Clinic, Sioux Falls; Laura Edwards, climate field specialist, SDSU Extension, Aberdeen; Tammy Gottman, child life specialist, Sanford Aberdeen Medical Center; Carrie Kindopp, child life specialist, Sanford Children's Hospital, Sioux Falls; Dr. Carrie Orn, dentist, Orn & McDaniel Family Dentistry, Ellendale, N.D.; and Dawn Ottman, wind energy, CanDew Scientific, Lemmon.
Event sponsors were Northern State University; 3M Co., Aberdeen; Aberdeen School District; American Association of University Women, Aberdeen Branch; Delta Dental; National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; National Weather Service, Aberdeen; Sanford Health, Aberdeen and Sioux Falls; South Dakota Dental Association; South Dakota Discovery Center, Pierre; South Dakota Office of Rural Health; and South Dakota Space Grant Consortium.
Donations may be sent to the Northern State University Foundation, 620 15th Ave SE, Aberdeen, SD 57401.
Contributions to the NSU Foundation are deductible under federal and state law.
For more information, please contact