Sign In
Contact Information

School of Business

Dr. Willard Broucek, Dean



Dr. Hillar Neumann, Chair


Lincoln Hall
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
Banking and Financial Services Advisory Board
Banking and Financial Services Advisory Board

Members of the NSU School of Business Banking and Financial Services Advisory Board are people with industry experience in the financial services sector of South Dakota and North Dakota.


Board members:

• Serve as a liaison between NSU and the banking and financial services industry;


• Advise the School of Business on curriculum issues that reflect industry needs and trends;


• Promote student awareness of opportunities and experiences in the financial services sector and serve as a contact for internship and career opportunities;


• And provide guidance in the development of the master's degree in banking and financial services to better prepare students and provide the skills needed to advance to higher-level positions within the financial services sector.



Current board membership includes:



​Board Member ​Business ​Position
​Bret Afdahl ​S.D. Banking Commission ​Director of Banking
​Tim Ahartz ​BankWest ​Sr. VP/Chief Risk Officer
​Bruce Byrum ​First Interstate Bank ​President
​Dana Dykhouse ​Premier Bank ​President/CEO
​Daryl Ebach ​Wells Fargo ​Regional President
Kelly Eisemann First State Bank of Roscoe Loan Officer
​Curt Everson ​S.D. Bankers Association ​President
​Robert Entringer ​N.D. Department of Financial Institutions ​Commissioner
​Rod Fouberg ​Dacotah Bank, Inc. ​Chairman of the Board
​Bruce Haerter ​Farmers State Bank ​President/CEO
​Curt Hage ​Home Federal Bank ​Chair/CEO/Director
​Brent Heinert ​Plains Commerce Bank ​President
​Arlo Hintz ​CorTrust Bank ​Senior VP/Area Branch Manager
​Dave Johnson ​Reliabank Dakota ​CEO/Chairman
​Ken Karels ​Great Western Bank ​President/CEO
​Tim Karsky ​Starion Financial ​Market President
Greg McCurry Independent Community Bankers of S.D. President/CEO
​Pierce McDowell ​S.D. Trust Companies ​Co-Chairman/Co-Chief Executive Officer
​Garry Peterka ​Quoin Financial Bank in Miller ​Senior Vice President
Cindi Walsh ​US Bank - Aberdeen ​President


A small group of industry experts was created to provide insight and knowledge to the School of Business faculty to help develop the Masters in Banking and Financial Services program at Northern.


This Curriculum Advisory Committee, or advisory group, consisted of area banking executives, South Dakota banking commission officers and a trust management professional. With Northern's business faculty, they helped develop a pertinent and thorough Master's program geared towards people who are interested in advancing their careers in the industry and people who are looking to change from another specialty to a position in banking and financial services.


The ideas and recommendations provided by the advisory group were invaluable in the development of a curriculum that will prepare students for managerial positions in the banking and financial services industry.


Members of this advisory group include:


  • Dick Westra, Dacotah Bank
  • Cynthia Walsh, US Bank
  • Bruce Ley, retired bank trust officer
  • Bret Afdahl, South Dakota Division of Banking
  • Tim Ahartz, BankWest, Inc.


Members of the School of Business who serve on the Banking and Financial Services Curriculum Committee are:

  • Dr. Doug Ohmer, NSU Faculty
  • Dr. Bill Broucek, NSU Dean