Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

Student Involvement and Leadership 

Student Center 250
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-3007
E-mail: Gypsy Days
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
NSU Gypsy Day Parade

Online registration for the 101st annual Northern State University Gypsy Day Parade will begin at 10 a.m. Wednesday, June 1.

Registration will include a $25 participation fee. The parade is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 1, with a start time of 9 a.m.
This year’s parade theme is “Gypsies Look to the Future.” 

Parade lineup is based on the order in which online registrations are received. The deadline to enter online is 5 p.m. Friday, Sept. 16. Only individuals or groups that meet the online deadline will receive a block and space assignment. Confirmation letters will be emailed with lineup information approximately one week before the parade.

For more information about the parade and registration process, contact Sarah Botkin, director of student involvement and leadership, at 605-626-3007 or

2015 Parade Awards

Gypsy Award (Best Vehicle Entry/Non-Float): May Day Acres
Thunder’s Award (Best Unit Featuring Animals): Wells Fargo
Northern Spirit Award (Best Group Participation and Spirit): Aberdeen Christian School
Northern Pride Award (Best Representation of Theme): Primrose Retirement Communities
Mayor’s Award (Best Aberdeen Community Entry): Centennial Homes
Chamber Award (Best Aberdeen Community Entry): Dial-A-Move Relocation Services
President’s Award (Best Northern State Entry): International Student Club
Best Overall Float: iHelp - Student Loan Finance Company

Past parade marshals: 2014: Ann Eisenbeisz, 50-year NSU employee; 2013: Lester Clarke, former NSU interim president, vice president, dean and professor; 2012: Bob Olson, retired Northern State University athletic director; 2011: Dr. Jack Warner, executive director of the S.D. Board of Regents; 2010: Mary Cundy, Joanna Goetz, and Deanna Mauck, founding master teachers for the NSU Center for Statewide E-learning; 2009: Dr. James Smith, NSU president, and Dr. Connie Ruhl-Smith; 2008: Mike Levsen, Aberdeen mayor and NSU alumnus