Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
A cappella concert set for May 1 at NSU

​ABERDEEN, S.D. – The Northern State University Chamber Singers and Early Music Ensemble will perform a concert of a cappella music at 7:30 p.m. May 1 in the Krikac Auditorium.

The Chamber Singers will open the concert with three motets by 19th century composer Anton Bruckner:  “Locus iste a Deo factus est,” “Ave Maria” and “Christus factus est pro nobis obediens.”
The Early Music Ensemble will then perform 16th century madrigals and chansons from Italy, France and England. The ensemble will open with “El Grillo” by Josquin des Prez, and then perform two French chansons: “Mon coeur se recommande á vous” by Orlando di Lasso, and “Il est bel et bon” by Pierre Passereau. These will be followed by three English madrigals by Thomas Morley: “Sing We and Chant It,” “April is in My Mistress’ Face” and “Fire, Fire My Heart.”

The middle set will use the texts of two of the greatest English writers, William Shakespeare and William Blake, in late 20th century settings. Beginning with Polish composer Jaakko Mäntyjärvi’s setting of the witches’ scene from “Macbeth,” the Chamber Singers will then perform “The Lamb” by the recently deceased English composer John Taverner, followed by “The Sick Rose” from Icelandic composer Atli Heimir Sveinsson.

The Early Music Ensemble will then perform two of the most famous sacred works from Tudor England: Thomas Tallis’ “If ye love me,” and William Byrd’s “Ave verum corpus.” The ensemble will conclude its part of the concert with two pieces by early American composer William Billings: “When Jesus Wept” and “David’s Lamentation.”

The Chamber Singers will conclude the concert with music by Johan Sebastien Bach, “Trotz, Trotz dem alten Drachen” from “Jesu meine Freude”; and an arrangement by Rhonda Sandberg, “Bach (Again) Come Sweet Death.”


Members of the Chamber Singers
Natalie Allcock                                   Britton
Christina Ascheman                        Park Rapids, Minn.
McKenzie Betting                            Ellendale, N.D.
Lara Brink                                            Artesian
Larissa Buchholz                               Tripp
Emily Davis                                          Aberdeen
Danica Fanning                                  Miller
Ashleigh Kost                                     Aberdeen
Carrie Pospishil                                 Yankton
Elizabeth Raecke                              Pierre
Brenna Rausch                                  Big Stone City
April Rogness                                     Astoria
Kayla Stoebner                                 Aberdeen
Katie Wegleitner                              Lake City
Katie Zetterlund                               Aberdeen
Kaitlin Buchholz                                Tripp
Megan Hanson                                 Pierre
Haley Hubbard                                  De Smet
Heather Kelsey                                 South St. Paul, Minn.
Michelle Mennis                              Wahpeton, N.D.
Kara Schlottman                               Rapid City
Jiye Song                                             Busan, South Korea
Hillary Sward                                      Dell Rapids
Paige Tooker                                      Warner
Taylor Wall                                          Breckenridge, Minn.
Lexi Ward                                            Aberdeen
Max Chamberlain                            Huron
Eli Corbett                                           Deadwood
Austin Fordham                                                Groton
Han Eol Kim                                        Seoul, South Korea
Robert Klassen Jr.                            South Sioux City, Neb.
Tyler Lanam                                        Rapid City
Anthony Rohr                                    Dickinson, N.D.
Levi Seefeldt                                      Clark
Alen Zeledon                                     Watertown
Robert Conrad                                  Sioux Falls
Jacob Ebsen                                       Milbank
Oyeon Kwon                                      Seoul, South Korea
Jonathan Miller                                 Kimball
Kevin Nakajima                                 Vale
Adam Rye                                           Sioux Falls
Salvatore Scavo                                Hightstown, N.J.
Ben Weber                                         Rapid City
Joseph Weseloh                               Watertown
Nathan Wilson                                  Kimball
Members of the Early Music Ensemble
Lara Brink                                            Artesian
Larissa Buchholz                               Tripp
Emily Cruse                                         Huron
April Rogness                                     Astoria
Carrie Wegleitner                            Lake City
Shelby Bauer                                     Aberdeen
Haley Hubbard                                  De Smet
Heather Kelsey                                 South St. Paul, Minn.
Schuyler Boyd                                   Yankton
Levi Seefeldt                                      Clark
Kevin Nakajima                                 Vale
Salvatore Scavo                                Hightstown, N.J.
Mark Sperry                                       Bath