Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
University/Civic Symphony to perform South Dakota premiere
ABERDEEN, S.D. – The 2013-14 season of the
Aberdeen University/Civic Symphony will open Nov. 16 with the South Dakota premiere of “Wright Flight,” a piano concerto by award-winning composer Michael Schelle.

The concert, titled “Flights of Imagination,” begins at 7:30 p.m. in the main auditorium of the Northern State University Johnson Fine Arts Center. The concert also includes music by Ludwig van Beethoven, Igor Stravinsky and Edvard Grieg.

“Wright Flight” was written to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the first motorized flight by the Wright brothers. The soloist will be pianist and award-winning composer Miho Sasaki. Schelle and Sasaki will spend five days in Aberdeen working with the orchestra, as clinicians and in workshops.

“Wright Flight” was commissioned by the Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra and premiered in February 2003. The 20-minute piece does not “paint pictures” in a programmatic sense. It instead works with the emotions (frustration, anxiety, and excitement); determination; intensity; and the engineering imagination associated with the Wright brothers’ groundbreaking work in aviation.
Schelle’s music has been commissioned and/or performed by more than 300 orchestras across the U.S. and abroad. He has received composition prizes, grants and awards from more than 30 prestigious arts organizations including the Rockefeller Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the American Symphony Orchestra League, the American Pianists Association and the National Band Association (the 2012 Revelli Composition Prize).

“We are pleased and proud to perform the South Dakota premiere of ‘Wright Flight’ and host Michael Schelle for this composer residency,” said orchestra conductor Dr. Robert Vodnoy. “While here, Michael will be a clinician for the band clinic on Nov. 13. I have known Mike for almost 25 years. He is one of the most inventive and imaginative composers on the musical landscape today.”
From Chiba City, Japan, composer/pianist Sasaki came to the United States in 2000 to study English and music at Indiana University. She earned a Master of Music degree from Butler University’s School of Music in Indianapolis. Her works have been commissioned and performed by the Manhattan Chamber Orchestra, the Fort Smith (Ark.) Symphony, and throughout Japan.
This is Vodnoy’s ninth year as orchestra director at NSU. In June, Vodnoy was a panelist at the Americans for the Arts 2013 National Conference in Pittsburgh, speaking on “Civic Identity and Cultivating Tourism.” He also presented that paper at the International Business Conference in Rapid City in September. His preface to Musikproduktion Jurgen Höflich’s edition of Frederick Converse’s tone poem “Festival of Pan” was published in August.

The Dacotah Prairie Museum has been displaying an exhibit titled “Flights into History” in conjunction with this concert. The exhibit, which includes model planes, flight combat suits and historic photos, opened Oct. 10 and will close Nov. 17.

Tickets may be purchased in advance at Engel Music in downtown Aberdeen. Cost is $13 for adults and $11 for seniors. Students are admitted free of charge. On the night of the concert, tickets will be available at the box office, which is located in the JFAC lobby and opens at 6:30 p.m. For more information, contact the NSU School of Fine Arts office at 605-626-2497.
The Aberdeen American News is sponsoring Schelle's visit.
Aberdeen University/Civic Symphony Personnel

Violin II
Lindsey Fluharty#                Prior Lake, Minn.
Nancy Ohnstad                     Aberdeen
Katarzyna Jedeluk                Chicago, Ill.
Gregg Magera                       Aberdeen
Timothy Woods                    Aberdeen
Noelle Stubbe                       Aberdeen
Violin II
Kira Lee#                               Aberdeen
Jessie Kolb                             Aberdeen
Alexis Doerr                          Aberdeen
Hyesoo Mok                          Gwacheon City, South Korea
Andrea Hilgedick                 Watertown
Xin Wang                               Beijing, China
Meagan Teply#                     Aberdeen
Jamie Stadel                          Aberdeen
Josh Opp                                Aberdeen
Stuart Davidson#                  Crocker
Taylor Johnson                     Aberdeen
John Wieland                        Aberdeen
Rebecca Fahey                     Spearfish
Josh Kimball#                        Aberdeen
Ginny Lewis                           Aberdeen
Flute and Piccolo
Steve Zimoski#                     Mobridge
Sha Li                                      Beijing, China
Maris Grewe                         Aberdeen
Frederic J.B. Hemke#          Aberdeen
Samantha Elbert                   Watertown
Charlotte Mallard#              Huron
John Patzlaff                          Platte
Abby Klum                             Dimock
Bass clarinet
Rebecca Fahey                     Spearfish
Anna Dzieweczynski#          Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
Michelle Mennis                  Wahpeton, N.D.
Ginny Lewis#                        Aberdeen
Jaime Kessler                        Jamestown
Brandon Sieck                      Onida 
Hillary Sward                         Dell Rapids
Amanda Wentz#                  Bismarck, N.D.
Matt Makeever                    Aberdeen
Nick Ries                                Watertown
Delayna LaBelle#                 Sturgis
Christina Renz                       Lennox
Justin Kones#                        Aberdeen
Robert Conrad                      Sioux Falls
Callie Berg Stadem               Sioux Falls

Timpani and Percussion
James “Cam” Abreu             Rapid City
Carrie Pospishil                    Yankton
Luke Bergjord                       Aberdeen
Christian Sejnoha Mitchell