Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
NSU Chamber Singers to present Bach’s Lunch on March 19
​ABERDEEN, S.D. – The Northern State University Chamber Singers will present the fourth Bach’s Lunch Concert at noon March 19 at Aberdeen’s Bethlehem Lutheran Church. 

The group, under the direction of Dr. Timothy Woods, will be assisted by NSU graduate assistant Ricky Faflak on keyboard. NSU faculty member Dr. Allan Jacobson will perform on the Holtkamp organ.
The concert will begin with two Chorale Preludes by J. S. Bach from the Neumeister Collection: BWV 1119, “Wie nach einer Wasserquelle” (Psalm 42:1, “As a deer longs for flowing streams, So my soul longs for you, O God”); and BWV 1115, “Herzlich lieb hab ich dich” (“I love you with all my heart, O Lord. Be ever near me with your help and grace”).
The featured work will be the third motet “Jesu, meine Freude,” BWV 227 (“Jesu, my great pleasure”). It was written in Leipzig in 1723 for the funeral of the wife of that city’s postmaster.

The chorale is based on a tune by Johan Crüger (1653), and the German text is by Johann Franck, dating from around 1650. The words of the movement nos. 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 are based on Paul’s Epistle to the Romans (8:1-2, 9-11). The scriptures discuss Jesus freeing people from sin and death.
The program will conclude with “Bach (Again) Come Sweet Death,” a setting of the Bach chorale arranged by Rhonda Sandberg, which will include choralography and 20th century tonal nuance.
Members of the Chamber Singers
Natalie Allcock                                 Britton
Christina Ascheman                        Park Rapids, Minn.
McKenzie Betting                            Ellendale, N.D.
Lara Brink                                       Artesian
Emily Davis                                      Aberdeen
Danica Fanning                                Miller
Ashleigh Kost                                   Aberdeen
Carrie Pospishil                                Yankton
Elizabeth Raecke                              Pierre
Brenna Rausch                                 Big Stone City
April Rogness                                    Astoria
Kayla Stoebner                                 Aberdeen
Katie Wegleitner                               Lake City
Katie Zetterlund                                Aberdeen
Kaitlin Buchholz                                Tripp
Megan Hanson                                  Pierre
Haley Hubbard                                  De Smet
Heather Kelsey                                 South St. Paul, Minn.
Michelle Mennis                                 Wahpeton, N.D.
Kara Schlottman                               Rapid City
Jiye Song                                          Busan, South Korea
Hillary Sward                                     Dell Rapids
Paige Tooker                                     Warner
Taylor Wall                                         Breckenridge, Minn.
Lexi Ward                                           Aberdeen
Max Chamberlain                               Huron
Eli Corbett                                          Deadwood
Austin Fordham                                  Groton
Han Eol Kim                                        Seoul, South Korea
Robert Klassen Jr.                              South Sioux City, Neb.
Tyler Lanam                                        Rapid City
Anthony Rohr*                                    Dickinson, N.D.
Levi Seefeldt                                       Clark
Alen Zeledon                                      Watertown
Robert Conrad                                  Sioux Falls
Jacob Ebsen                                      Milbank
Oyeon Kwon                                     Seoul, South Korea
Jonathan Miller                                  Kimball
Kevin Nakajima                                 Vale
Adam Rye                                          Sioux Falls
Salvatore Scavo                                Hightstown, N.J.
Ben Weber                                        Rapid City
Joseph Weseloh                               Watertown
Nathan Wilson                                  Kimball