Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
Fall 2012 speech and debate news from NSU
ABERDEEN, S.D. – Members of the Northern State University Speech and Debate Team received honors at a tournament this fall.
On Nov. 9, the team attended the Annual Valley Forensics League Tournament No. 1 in Fargo, N.D. Jason Honerman of Sioux Falls placed second in dramatic interpretation, third in program oral interpretation and fourth in poetry. Julia Wold of Carrington, N.D., placed fourth in persuasive speaking.
On Nov. 10, the team attended the Annual Valley Forensics League Tournament No. 2 in Moorhead, Minn. Honerman placed second in dramatic interpretation, fourth in program oral interpretation, fourth in poetry and seventh in prose. Wold placed first in impromptu speaking and fourth in persuasive speaking, and she was a semi-finalist in parliamentary debate.
Also this fall, NSU hosted its 43rd annual oral interpretation contest. More than 125 students from the region competed in the event on Oct. 13. Schools in attendance included: Aberdeen Central, Aberdeen Roncalli, Britton-Hecla, Clark, Faulkton, Frederick, James Valley Christian, Langford, Milbank, Miller, Mobridge-Pollock, Sisseton, Webster and Wolsey-Wessington.
NSU and its speech and debate team would like to thank those who attended and congratulate the finalists and winners:
1st: Hattie Erickson, Britton-Hecla
2nd: Sam Vassar, Aberdeen Central
3rd: Tori Remington, Milbank
Finalist: Grant Brewer, Mobridge-Pollock
Finalist: Michael Sperry,Aberdeen Roncalli
Finalist: Alicia Van Tassel,  Wolsey-Wessington
1st: Josh Hinkemeyer, Sisseton
2nd: Rebecca Schrupp, Milbank
3rd: Tomi Jones, Britton-Hecla
Finalist: Mariah Lord, Wolsey-Wessington
Finalist: Kyle Ortmeier, Faulkton
Finalist: Hattie Erickson, Britton-Hecla            
1st: Melissa May, Mobridge-Pollock
2nd: Emily Pillatzki, Milbank
3rd: Sidney Delvaux, Wolsey-Wessington
Finalist: Katie Loutsch, Milbank
Finalist: Dade Monroe, Faulkton
Finalist: Megan Larsen, Wolsey-Wessington               
1st: Ryan Burket, James Valley Christian
2nd: Jacob Womack, Aberdeen Central
3rd: Carrie Wegleitner, Britton-Hecla
Finalist: Abi Fred,  Mobridge-Hecla
Finalist: Megan Thomas, Milbank
Finalist: Thomas Krueger, Aberdeen Central
1st: Katie Loutsch,  Milbank
2nd: Kyle Ortmeier, Faulkton
3rd: Annie Christensen, Britton-Hecla
Finalist: Tannon Tople, Aberdeen Central
Finalist: Emily Pillatzki, Milbank
Finalist: Joe Benidt, Sisseton
1st: Rebbeca Schrupp/ Rachel Johansen, Milbank
2nd: Lexi McGillvrey/Alecia Van Tassel, Wolsey-Wessington
3rd: Carrie Wegleitner/Morgan Wood, Britton-Hecla
Finalist: Chase Roesch/Cole Hager, Aberdeen Central
Finalist: Allwin McDonald/Seth McDonald, Milbank
Finalist: Nathaniel Steinlicht/Taylor Frevert, Milbank
Reader’s Theater:
1st: Aberdeen Central
2nd: Sisseton
3rd: Milbank
Team Sweepstakes
B Division:
1st: Wolsey Wessington
2nd: Faulkton
A Division:
1st: Milbank
2nd: Aberdeen Central