Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
NSU employees receive awards, recognition

For maintaining service amidst chaotic construction, forging statewide connections, showing exemplary attention to detail and other virtues, Northern State University employees recently were recognized.
Northern State University’s Employee Achievement and Recognition Awards event was March 12 in the Student Center Centennial rooms. Dinner was served with award presentation, recognition and prize drawings following.

Following are awards, recipients and excerpts from NSU President James Smith’s remarks:
Excellence in Performance Award: Jackie Blide, School of Education secretary
“This year’s Excellence in Performance award goes to someone who is referred to as an ‘office angel’ with her professional and friendly attitude, calm demeanor and can-do attitude.
“She is constantly multitasking and does so with great agility and precision.  She continually gets interrupted, yet returns to each without skipping a beat.  The work she produces is top-notch.  She often volunteers her services to help out whenever needed.”
Student Service Award: Matt Scott, admissions representative
“The recipient of the Student Service Award has a very positive attitude and is always willing to help current and prospective students, parents and co-workers.
“His strong attention to detail enables him to not only meet his responsibilities in the department, but allows him to able to assist with the many other responsibilities. He is involved with campus ministries and recently accepted the role as Student Activities advisor. “ 
Excellence in Management: Karen Marchant, director of grants and sponsored research
“Organization, service and communication are areas that this year’s award winner excels in, and is someone who is well-respected by faculty and staff at NSU and elsewhere.
“Her qualities of diligence and communication skills make her successful in her position, and have had a tremendous impact on NSU. 
“Since joining NSU, grant monies have increased threefold because of her ability to connect all disciplines at NSU to collaborators and granting institutions at the local, regional and national levels.  Her presence at SD Board of Regents meetings and at other SD institutions has connected NSU with colleagues within the state.”
Teamwork Award:  Wolf Shoppe and Post Office staff - Lindsey Heidenreich, Stacey Hepola, Alan Kinder, Julie Nikolas, Carol Schumacher and Beth Rasmusson
“This year’s teamwork award goes to a group who pitched in and took care of all the extra things that needed to be done while taking care of everyday business that did not disrupt the assistance provided to members of the campus community.
“When the renovation of the Student Union began in August of 2011 this group was told, 'The construction people will work around you – it won’t be a problem!’  And so began the journey of the next year – jackhammers, dust, flying concrete and moving product. 
“The staff was constantly challenged to find new ways to take care of things, while staying accessible to the public, faculty, staff, students and alumni.  Despite terrible working conditions – dirt, falling debris, interruption, cold, hot, and noise – they diligently worked through it.”
2013 faculty retirees were named.
Recognized for years of service were:
5 years: Dean Berry, Greg Blair, Kathy Boschee, Tomee Brown, Mercedes Buchanan, Darci Bultema Skyles, Phillip Coghlan, Dwight Denman, Brent Dodds, Jennifer Dolejsi, Kelly Forrest, Jerit Heinz, Tom Helling, Caleen Jandel, David Johnson, Matt Scott, Shari Theroux & Paula Wetenkamp
10 years: Chelvan Arunasalam, Guangwei Ding, Anne Holmquest, Alyssa Kiesow, Alan Neville, Jackie Omland, Tracy Russman, Jim Seeber, Dan Sitter & Amanda Weischedel
15 years: Tom Hawley, Roger Hoffman, Steve Kehm, Tim Steinwandt & Pat Timm
20 years: Carolyn Blanchard, Vicki Evans, John Peterson, Beth Rasmusson, Linda Richards, Julie Schmidt, Lenny Tietz & Earl Weisenburger
25 years: Scott Allbee, Ron Backman, Jake Bentz, Kay Fredrick, Dan Hicks, Scott Peterson, Carol Schumacher, Deb Thorstenson& Rob Van Wagner
40 years: Joann Pomplun & Virginia Shanley
45 years:  Cherie Sauer