Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
NSU president receives top honor from professional society

​ABERDEEN, S.D. – Northern State University President James Smith has been named the 2012 Living Legend Award winner by the National Council of Professors of Educational Administration.


Smith will receive the award – the highest honor given by NCPEA – at the organization’s annual conference on Aug. 7 in Kansas City, Mo.


Established in 1947, the NCPEA is the oldest professional society for educational leadership and policy studies. Since 1999, the group’s Living Legend Award has recognized outstanding contributions to the field of educational administration. Winners exemplify greatness through: living a life that inspires others, providing exemplary service to NCPEA, modeling an ethic of care and professionalism, demonstrating the highest levels of success as a university teacher and researcher, and offering highly significant contributions to the field of educational administration.


Smith has contributed to NCPEA as a former executive board member, yearbook author, yearbook manuscript editor and frequent committee member. His research has spanned a large spectrum of educational policy, but he is best known for scholarship focused on the deleterious effects of standardized testing on low-income and disenfranchised youth. 


Smith said he is very honored to receive the designation of Living Legend. 


“Those who have received this award before me, like Professor John Hoyle at Texas A&M University, are without question leading minds in the field,” he said.
 Hoyle, Smith’s friend and former mentor, was the inaugural speaker for his investiture as president at NSU.


Smith continued, “Because I have been active in the organization since 1988, it is especially nice to have been selected by my friends and colleagues from all around the country. This is truly a ‘once in a lifetime’ recognition.”