Navigate Up
Sign In
NSU Speech and Debate Team members receive awards
ABERDEEN, S.D. – Northern State University Speech and Debate
Team members received awards at the Pi Kappa Delta National Speech and Debate Tournament on Sunday, March 17. 
Seven students competed at the national tournament, attended by teams from 89 schools including South Dakota State University, Purdue, University of Kentucky, University of Nebraska, University of Michigan, Texas A & M, Bowling Green and Ohio State.

Kaitlin Fuerstenau (Watertown) and Mike Newman (Danville, Vt.) broke into quarterfinals in junior parliamentary debate. Fuerstenau and  Newman were awarded an excellence award (top 30 percent) for their combined speaking points in junior parliamentary debate.

Jason Honerman (Sioux Falls) received a superior award (top 10 percent) for his performance in prose. He placed 15th of 153 speakers. He was also awarded excellence awards (top 30 percent) for his performances in both poetry and dramatic interpretation.
Top photo: Honerman; bottom photo: Newman (left) and Fuerstenau.