Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
NSU/Community Concert Band to perform April 14

​ABERDEEN, S.D. – The NSU/Community Concert Band and ensembles will hold
a spring performance at 7:30 p.m. Monday, April 14, in the Johnson Fine Arts Center Theater.

The NSU/Community Concert Band is under the direction of Dr. Terry Beckler. Also performing at the April 14 concert will be the NSU Percussion Ensemble, directed by Beckler, and Dominant 7, directed by Dr. Grant Manhart. Admission is free.


The Concert Band, which includes NSU students and members of the community, will perform:


• “Valdres,” arranged for band by Glann C. Bainum: This Norwegian march is evocative and expressive of its land of birth, and it is one of the most famous marches ever composed.

• “Prelude, Siciliano and Rondo,” by Malcolm Arnold: This was originally written for brass bands, but John Paynter’s arrangement expands it to include woodwinds and additional percussion while faithfully retaining the breezy effervescence of the original composition.

• “Two Slavonic Dances” by Antonin Dvorak, arranged by Andrew Balent: Dvořák’s first set of Slavonic Dances – modeled after Johannes Brahms’ gypsy-influenced Hungarian Dances – established the composer’s international reputation.

• “Parade of the Tall Ships” by Jay A. Chattaway: This unique concert march was written to commemorate Operation Sail, the largest gathering of tall ships ever assembled, which took place in New York harbor as part of the national bicentennial celebration on July 4, 1976.

The NSU Percussion Ensemble will perform “El Caribe,” by Lalo Davila, and “A Beatles Medley – 1963-64: Songs From Liverpool.” Ensemble members are James “Cam” Abreu, Amanda Korak, Luke Bergjord, Carrie Pospishil, April Rogness, Dustin Schmidt, Carl Mathwig and Erin Wolter.


NSU/Community Concert Band

Instrument, musician, hometown, affiliation/year, major

Shelby Bauer – Aberdeen; freshman; music education
Bethany Craker – Reedburg, Wis.; sophomore; psychology
Jennifer Dolejsi – Aberdeen; alumna
Andrea Hilgedick – Huron; freshman; U.S. history
Roxanne Jensen – Groton; community member
Tasha Nelson – Redfield; community member
Sha Li – Shanghai, international student; sociology
Kimberly Schilling – Aberdeen; freshman; special education, psychology
Carrie Schlotte – Webster; sophomore; music education
Mallory Beckler – Aberdeen; community member
Alicia Peterson – Aberdeen; alumnus
Allysa Ullrich – Aberdeen; alumnus
Jacque Bratcher – Lead; freshman; music education
Lara Brink – Artesian; junior; music education
Taylor Melius – Faulkton; freshman; accounting
Carrie Wegleitner – Britton; freshman; art education, musical theater
Bass Clarinet
Nicole Mohr – Renner; freshman; psychology, sociology
Contra Alto Clarinet
Dannika Vande Brake – Clear Lake; freshman; psychology
Alto Saxophone
Kallan Christman – Clark; sophomore; music education
Emily Cruse – Huron; freshman; music education
Harrison Homelvig – Bowman, N.D.; freshman; music education
Mark Sperry – Bath; junior; biotechnology
Alen Zeledon – Watertown; sophomore; music education
Tenor Saxophone
Susan Knodel – Aberdeen; community member
Anita Nielson – Aberdeen; community member
Baritone Saxophone
Bethel Delzer – Aberdeen; freshman; physical therapy assistant
Logan Crown – Corona; freshman; sociology, criminal justice
Addyson Diaz – Breckenridge, Minn.; freshman; marketing
Paige Tooker – Warner; freshman; music education
Amanda Wentz –Bismarck, N.D.; senior; music
Lindsey Beckler – Aberdeen; community member
Sophie Doeden – Beresford; freshman; political science, history education
Brock Fischer – Aberdeen; freshman; business management, marketing
Laurie Flisrand – Aberdeen; community member
Sam Johnson – Mitchell; freshman; music education
Megan Hansen – Pierre; freshman; music education
Carl Mathwig – Waconia; sophomore; music education
Kevin Nakajima – Newell; senior; music
Molly Royals – Rapid City; freshman; music
James Abreu – Rapid City; senior; music education
Lexi Cole – Canton; freshman; English
Cameron Jarvis – Aberdeen; community member
Tyler Lanam – Rapid City; freshman; music
Schuyler Boyd – Yankton; junior; music education
John Gorr – Rapid City; sophomore; music education
Joseph Peterson – Aberdeen, alumnus
Michael Schliewe – Vesta, Minn.; freshman; professional accountancy
Alec Nelson – Jamestown, N.D.; senior; music education
Carrie Pospishil – Yankton; sophomore; music education
April Rogness – White; sophomore; music
Dustin Schmidt – Huron; freshman; mathematics
Photos: Beckler (top), Manhart