Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
NSU Symphonic Band to Present ‘Sounds of Summer’ Concert
ABERDEEN, S.D. – The Northern State University Symphonic Band, under
the direction of Dr. Boyd Perkins, will present a concert entitled “The Sounds of Summer” at 3 p.m. Sunday, April 14, at the Johnson Fine Arts Center.  
“The program is full of music that many people will find very recognizable, including music from the original John Williams score from ‘Star Wars,’” said Perkins. “There is something for everyone, from standard marches to show tunes to music from films, as well as several standards for wind band. The music will represent a fun-filled summer in the park atmosphere, including a clarinet solo by NSU clarinet professor Dr. Alan LaFave.”

The public is welcome. Admission is $7 for adults and $5 for seniors. Students and
children are admitted free. Proceeds go to support NSU music scholarships.

The band will perform two medleys from well-known Broadway hits: “Highlights from Oklahoma,” by Rodgers and Hammerstein; and “Lerner and Loewe in Concert,” which includes Broadway hits “Get Me to the Church on Time,” “Thank Heaven for Little Girls,” “The Night They Invented Champagne,” “If Ever I Would Leave You” and “I Could Have Danced All Night.” The program also includes some well-known marches: Henry Fillmore’s “Americans We,” Edwin Bagley’s patriotic march “National Emblem,” and “Freischutz Quickstep,” a concert march by Claude Grafulla based upon Carl Maria von Weber’s opera of the same name.

Other selections on the concert include: “In the Center Ring,” a portrait of circus life by Robert Sheldon; James Curnow’s “Rejouissance,” a fantasy on Martin Luther’s theme “Ein Feste Burg,” better known as “A Mighty Fortress is Our God”; “Fire of the Eternal Glory,” by Dmitri Shostakovich; “The Irish Washerwoman,” by Leroy Anderson; and “Star Wars Medley,” by John Williams, arranged by James Burden.

The concert will also feature the NSU Maroon Saxophone Quartet, under the direction of NSU saxophone professor Fred Hemke. This group will play “A Super Mario Medley!” and “Palladio.”

LaFave’s featured solo is “Rhapsody for Solo Clarinet and Band,” by Anne McGinty. LaFave is the professor of clarinet at NSU, as well as dean of the School of Fine Arts. He holds the B.M.E. in instrumental/vocal music from and the M.M. and D.M.A. in clarinet performance from Arizona State University, Tempe. He is in constant demand as a soloist throughout the upper Midwest and presented a solo performance for the 2000 International Clarinet Association ClarinetFest.
Symphonic Band personnel

Megan Vockrodt, Pierre
Allison Keller, Bismarck, N.D.
Sabrena Schmidt, Huron
Nichole Anderson, Appleton, Minn.
Brenna Rausch, Milbank
Anna Dzieweczynski, Inver Grover Heights, Minn.
Rebecca Fahey, Spearfish
John Patzlaff, Platte
Amy Wietgrefe, Britton
Charlotte Mallard, Huron
Abby Klumb, Parkston
Alen Zeledon, Watertown
Brooke Mathey, Mitchell
McKenzie Betting, Ellendale, N.D.
Ellie Wintersteen, Menno
Bass Clarinet
Brandon Finck, Jamestown, N.D.
Katie Wegleitner, Lake City
Emmanuel Samuelu, Barrow, Alaska
Contrabass Clarinet
Chelsea Kerbaugh, Casselton, N.D.
Alto Saxophone
Steven Zimoski, Mobridge
Derek VanDenTop, Canton
Tenor Saxophone
Taylor Johnson, Aberdeen
Baritone Saxophone
Carl Mathwig, Waconia, Minn.
Amanda Wentz, Bismarck, N.D.
Callie Marlette, Gettysburg
Hillary Sward, Dell Rapids
Chris Massa, Rapid City
Calvin Cramer, Buffalo
Alec Nelson, Jamestown, N.D.
French Horn
Jaime Kessler, Jamestown, N.D.
Brandon Sieck, Onida
Michelle Mennis, Wahpeton, N.D.
Cody Swanson, Langford
Tyler Schwan, Surrey, N.D.
Russell Hadden, Beulah, Wyo.
Delayna LaBelle, Black Hawk
Johnathan Miller, Kimball
Joseph Weseloh, Watertown
Luke Bergjord, Aberdeen
Max Chamberlain, Huron
Austin Fordham, Groton
Robert Conrad, Sioux Falls
Alan Birmeier, Plankinton
John Gorr, Rapid City
Jordan Seidel, Rapid City
Bailey Geist, Roscoe
Joel Schlottman, Rapid City
Carrie Pospishil, Yankton
Amanda Korak, Huron
The NSU Maroon Saxophone Quartet
Steve Zimoski, soprano saxophone
Derek VanDenTop, alto saxophone
John N. Patzlaff, tenor saxophone
Michelle Mennis, baritone saxophone
Photos: Perkins (top), LaFave