Navigate Up
Sign In
Contact Information

University Relations  

Graham Hall 123
1200 S. Jay St.
Aberdeen, S.D. 57401
Phone: 605-626-2552
The WolfPACT Scholarship
Guaranteed Scholarship
The largest guaranteed four year scholarship in the Midwest. Money you can count on. Get your ACT Score; find out your scholarship award. It's that simple!
Learn More!
University/civic symphony to celebrate the music of Verdi and Wagner
ABERDEEN, S.D. – The Aberdeen University/Civic Symphony will present a
choral-orchestral concert to celebrate the 200th anniversaries of the births of Giuseppe Verdi and Richard Wagner.

Both composers, the most important and influential opera composers of the 19th century, were born in 1813, and their music is being studied and performed throughout the world this year.  The concert, sponsored by Dacotah Bank, will be 7 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 24, in the Northern State University Johnson Fine Arts Center.

 The program – conducted by the orchestra’s music director, Dr. Robert Vodnoy – will open with Wagner’s brilliant “Overture to Rienzi.” The NSU Collegiate Choir will join the orchestra to perform “The Pilgrim’s Chorus” from Wagner’s “Tannhäuser.” The choir and the Northern opera theater will join the orchestra to perform the entire act II finale from Verdi’s “La traviata.”  The chorus will be prepared by choir director Dr. Timothy Woods. The cast of singers from the opera theater program will be prepared by Michael Skyles.
The “La traviata” performance will be staged by Dan Yurgaitis, who will lead a pre-concert conversation about staging Verdi and Wagner at 6 p.m. in Berggren Recital Hall.

“La traviata,” which means “The Fallen Woman,” tells the story of a Parisian courtesan named Violetta, who is in love with Alfredo but gives him up at the behest of Alfredo’s father, Germont. The performance will be semi-staged, with the choir (portraying the guests) standing behind the orchestra, and the lead singers (in costume) singing in front of the orchestra and acting the scene.
The role of Violetta will be sung by Dr. Darci Bultema. The role of Alfredo will be sung by Skyles. The role of Germont will be sung by Matt Harmel. Other titled roles will be sung by Megan Rose Case (Flora), Anthony Rohr (Gastone), Paul Hoselton (the Baron), Joe Weseloh (the Marquis) and Cody Swanson (the Doctor). Fourteen other NSU voice or musical theater members will perform the singing and dancing roles of the gypsies and matadors. Rebecca Fahey is the costumer for the production.
Tickets for the concert may be purchased in advance at Engel Music in downtown Aberdeen. Cost is $13 for adults and $11 for seniors. Students are admitted free of charge. The night of the concert, tickets will be available at the box office, which is located in the lobby of the JFAC and opens at 6 p.m.
For more information, contact the NSU School of Fine Arts office at 605-626-2497 or visit the orchestra’s website at
LA TRAVIATA, Act II Finale cast list:
Violetta – Darci Bultema: Aberdeen, S.D.
Alfredo – Michael Skyles: Aberdeen, S.D.
Flora – Megan Case: Scranton, N.D.
Giorgio Germont – Matthew Harmel: Aberdeen, S.D.
Gastone – Anthony Rohr: Dickinson, N.D.
Baron Douphol – Paul Hoselton:  Fargo, N.D.
Marquis D’Obigny – Joe Weseloh: Watertown, S.D.
Doctor Grenvil – Cody Swanson, Langford, S.D.

Natalie Allcock: Britton, S.D.
Lara Brink: Artesian, S.D.
Kaitlyn Buchholz: Tripp, S.D.
Larissa Buchholz : Tripp, S.D.
Emily Davis: Aberdeen, S.D.
Jeanna Jerde: Aberdeen, S.D.
Jon Miller: Kimball, S.D.
Max Chamberlain: Huron, S.D.
Robbie Klassen: Sioux City, Iowa
Nate Wilson: Kimball, S.D.
Eli Corbett: Lead, S.D.
Jake Ebsen: Milbank, S.D.
Brindisi Soloists:
Larissa Buchholz: Tripp, S.D.
Emily Davis, Aberdeen, S.D.
Jeanna Jerde, Aberdeen, S.D.
Anthony Rohr, Dickinson, N.D.
Violin I                                                    
Lindsey Fluharty#            Prior Lake, Minn.
Nancy Ohnstad                 Aberdeen
Katarzyna Jedeluk           Chicago, Ill.
Andy Johnson                   Aberdeen
Gregg Magera                   Aberdeen
Everaldo Martinez           Bismarck, N.D.
Violin II
Teresa Witteman#          Aberdeen
Joseph Weseloh                               Watertown
Kallyn Jerde                        Aberdeen
Alexis Doerr                       Aberdeen
Shari Theroux                    Aberdeen
Xin Wang                             Beijing, China
Sookyoung Park               Seoul, South Korea
Brady Haar#                       Aberdeen
Meagan Teply                   Aberdeen
Jamie Stadel                       Aberdeen
Stuart Davidson#             Crocker
Natasha Tharp                   Watertown
Karen Anderson               Aberdeen
Taylor Johnson                  Aberdeen
John Wieland                     Aberdeen
Rebecca Fahey                  Spearfish
Josh Kimball#                 Aberdeen
Flute and Piccolo
Charity Ost#                       Aberdeen
Steve Zimoski                    Mobridge (piccolo)
Oboe and English horn
Christel Kellar#                  Aberdeen
Frederic J.B. Hemke        Aberdeen (English horn)
Charlotte Mallard#             Huron
John Patzlaff                         Platte
Anna Dzieweczynski#    Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
Michelle Mennis              Wahpeton, N.D.
Ginny Lewis#                     Aberdeen
Jaime Kessler                     Jamestown
Brandon Sieck                   Onida 
Gretchen Sharp                                Bath
Amanda Wentz#              Bismarck, N.D.
Hillary Sward                      Dell Rapids
Calvin Cramer                    Buffalo
Alec Nelson                        Jamestown, N.D.
Justin Kones#                    Aberdeen
Delayna LaBelle                Sturgis
Tyler Schwan                     Minot, N.D.
Alan Biermeier                 Plankinton
Timpani and Percussion
Carrie Pospishil                 Yankton
Luke Bergjord                    Aberdeen
Jordan Seidel                     Rapid City
Joel Schlottman                  Rapid City
Top photo, Bultema; bottom photo, Skyles