Percussion Ensemble, Vocal Jazz Ensemble to represent NSU School of Fine Arts at SDMEA Conference

ABERDEEN, S.D. – The Northern State University School of Fine Arts’ Percussion Ensemble and Vocal Jazz Ensemble will represent NSU at the South Dakota Music Educators Association Conference in Sioux Falls Oct. 26-28.

The 2017 SDMEA Conference is held at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls. It coincides with the All-State Choir and Orchestra event and provides music teachers professional development opportunities on a variety of topics of interest to K-12 music educators. NSU will be offering graduate credit through the Office of Continuing Education, and the School of Fine Arts will have a booth in the exhibits area of the conference.

Led by Dr. Terry Beckler, associate professor of music, music department chair/percussion and bands, the NSU Percussion Ensemble will perform at 2:20 p.m. on Oct. 27 at the conference.

Students involved in the Percussion Ensemble include Paulo Daniel Jimenez of Cochabamba, Bolivia; Balie Albrecht of Rapid City; Nyssa Duffield of Browns Valley, Minn.; Jackson Foy of Eagan, Minn.; Tanner Chilson of Watertown; Dustin Schmidt of Huron; Tabitha Schmidt of Huron; Grace Gasperich of Aberdeen; Roger Frank II of Gregory; Eric Bishop of Rapid City; Grant Duvall of Huron; Gillian Roda of Hot Springs; Chase Manhart of Aberdeen; Sara Krebsbach of Buffalo, Minn.; and Chang Zhou of Guangdong province, China.

Led by Dr. Wendy van Gent, associate professor of music, music education/vocal jazz, the Vocal Jazz Ensemble will be used as a demonstration ensemble on Oct. 27 in “Vocal Jazz - Improving the Basics & Releasing the Talent – a Demonstration.” This demonstration is one of several events being put on by van Gent at the conference. Van Gent serves as the Collegiate Chapters Chair for the SDMEA.

Members of the Vocal Jazz Ensemble include Amanda McIlravy of Phillip; Joanna Schleich of Mitchell; Angie Schleich of Mitchell; Lexi Becht of Clear Lake; Elsa Swanson of Chaska, Minn.; Brandon Barrett of Britton; Eduardo Mendoza Reyes-Ortiz of Cochabamba, Bolivia; Isaac Seaton of Aberdeen; Sal Scavo of Hightstown, N.J.; Tanner Chilson of Watertown; Grace Gasperich of Aberdeen; and Gillian Roda of Hot Springs.

The NSU National Association for Music Education (NAfME) Chapter will also be in attendance at the conference, serving as a channel for NSU School of Fine Arts students to network with fellow music educators.

About Northern State University

Northern State University offers outstanding academics and exceptional extracurricular activities at an affordable price on a safe, welcoming campus. To learn more about NSU, visit NSU Admissions.